Clemson will attempt to earn a record sixth consecutive outright conference title on Saturday, Dec. 19, when the Tigers face Notre Dame in the ACC Championship Game.
Kickoff at Bank of America Stadium is scheduled for 4 p.m. ET. Even in the most unusual year of college football in the modern era, the ACC Championship Game matchup
played true to recent form, matching a traditional Atlantic Division power against a new challenger.

While Clemson and Florida State have represented the Atlantic Division every year since 2013, eight different challengers have served as ACC Championship Game opponents in that span. All seven Coastal Division teams earned one appearance between 2013-19, and this season, Notre Dame earned a berth in its first year in the league. Between Clemson and Florida State, Atlantic Division representatives have won nine straight
ACC titles, including each of the last five by Clemson.

This week, Clemson will attempt to become the first team in any active conference to win six consecutive titles outright (Note: Oklahoma can also accomplish the feat with a win in the Big 12 Championship Game). Florida State earned at least a share of nine consecutive
ACC titles from 1992-2000 but never earned more than three consecutive titles outright. The last team presently in the Power Five to win at least six straight outright titles was Oklahoma (12 from 1948-59) as part of the now-dissolved Big 8 Conference.
The history Clemson seeks this week is not limited only to ACC annals. At 9-1 this year, Clemson is one win shy of reaching the 10-win threshold for the 10th consecutive season. With a win this week, Clemson would become only the third program in FBS history
to produce a “double-double” — double-digit wins in a double-digit number of consecutive seasons. Clemson would join Florida State (14 from 1987-2000) and Alabama (13 from 2008-20) as the only programs ever to produce 10 straight 10-win seasons. Both teams will be led Saturday by their programs’ respective winningest starting quarterbacks: Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence (33-1) and Notre Dame’s Ian Book (30-3). Lawrence is 5-1 in his career in postseason play, including a 2-0 mark in ACC Championship Games.
Though Book also helped Notre Dame to a 2017 bowl win in reserve, he is 1-1 as a starter in the postseason, with his lone loss coming against a freshman Lawrence
in the 2018 Cotton Bowl.