Offensive tackle is eighth honoree from Clemson and the first since 1987
GREENSBORO, N.C.  – Clemson junior offensive tackle Mitch Hyatt has been voted the winner of the 2017 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, the Atlantic Coast Conference announced on Sunday.
The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player selected the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. Hyatt becomes the eighth student-athlete from Clemson to receive the honor and the first since offensive guard John Phillips in 1987.
“Mitch is very deserving of this award,” said Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney. “I was surprised to find out that a Clemson player had not won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy since 1987. But what Mitch has accomplished this year and over the last three years has been significant, and winning this award just adds to his significant resume. 
“He has been so consistent in everything he does. We have only lost three games in the three years he has been in our starting lineup, and he has a lot to do with that.”
The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945. Hyatt will be recognized next weekend during activities surrounding the 2017 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game, which is for at 8 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 2, at Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium. Hyatt and his Clemson teammates will face Miami for the conference crown.
Hyatt, a 6-foot-5, 295-pound native of Suwanee, Georgia, is a three-year starter for the Tigers. A third-team All-ACC selection as a freshman two years ago and a first-team honoree last season, Hyatt earned the Jacobs Blocking Trophy this season for his role in a Clemson offense that averages more than 35 points and close to 460 yards total offense per game. The defending national champion Tigers (11-1 overall, 7-1 ACC) rank second in the conference in each of those categories.
The standout left tackle earned consecutive ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week honors, first on Oct. 30 for his play in the Tigers’ win over Georgia Tech, and again on Nov. 6 following Clemson’s road victory at NC State. In each of those contests, Hyatt graded out at 93 percent while delivering five knockdown blocks without allowing a sack.
Hyatt amassed 15 total points in the coaches’ voting to capture the 64th ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy (no award was given in 1996). Virginia Tech’s Wyatt Teller placed second with 12 points, while Pitt’s Brian O’Neill was third with 10. A total of 23 players earned at least one first-, second- or third-place vote.
In addition to Hyatt and Phillips, previous Jacobs Blocking Trophy winners from Clemson have included fullback Doug Cline (1959), tackle Wayne Mass (1966), guard Harry Olszewski (1967), guard Joe Bostic (1977), tackle Lee Nanney (1981) and guard James Farr (1983).
Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy
1953    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1954    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1955    Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland
1956    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1957    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1958    John Saunders, FB, South Carolina
1959    Doug Cline, FB, Clemson
1960    Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke
1961    Art Gregory, T, Duke
            Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina
1962    Art Gregory, T, Duke
1963    Chuck Walker, T, Duke
1964    Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina
1965    John McNabb, G, Duke
1966    Wayne Mass, T, Clemson
1967    Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson
1968    Greg Shelly, T, Virginia
1969    Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland
1970    Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia
1971    Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina
1972    Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina
1973    Bill Yoest, G, NC State
1974    Ken Huff, G, North Carolina
1975    Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1976    Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1977    Joe Bostic, G, Clemson
1978    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1979    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1980    Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina
1981    Lee Nanney, T, Clemson
1982    Dave Pacella, T, Maryland
1983    James Farr, G, Clemson
1984    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1985    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1986    Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest
1987    John Phillips, G, Clemson
1988    Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina
1989    Chris Port, T, Duke
1990    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1991    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1992    Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest
1993    Mark Dixon, G, Virginia
1994    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1995    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1996    no recipient
1997    Tra Thomas, T, Florida State
1998    Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech
1999    John St. Clair, C, Virginia
2000    Tarlos Thomas, T, Florida State
2001    Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2002    Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2003    Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2004    Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2005    Eric Winston, T, Miami
2006    Josh Beekman, G-C, Boston College
2007    Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest
2008    Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia
2009    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2010    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2011    Blake DeChristopher, T, Virginia Tech
2012    Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina
2013    Cameron Erving, T, Florida State
2014    Cameron Erving, T-C, Florida State
2015    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State
2016    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State
2017    Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson