Tiger offensive tackle becomes conference’s 13th repeat winner


GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Clemson senior offensive tackle Mitch Hyatt has been voted the winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy for the second consecutive year, the Atlantic Coast Conference announced Sunday.


The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player selected the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. Hyatt becomes 13th repeat recipient of the award in league history and the first Clemson player to be recognized multiple times. This marks the ninth time in league history that a Tiger has claimed the trophy.


The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945. Hyatt will be recognized next weekend during activities surrounding the 2018 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game, which is set for next Saturday evening at 8 p.m. at Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium. Hyatt and his Clemson teammates will face Pitt for the conference crown.


Hyatt, a 6-foot-5, 305-pound native of Suwanee, Georgia, is a four-year starter for the Tigers and has played more snaps from scrimmage than any player in program history. A third-team All-ACC selection as a freshman three years ago and a first-team honoree each of the previous two seasons, Hyatt won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy this year for his role in a Clemson offense leads the ACC and ranks among the nation’s top 10 in scoring (45.7 ppg) and total yards per game (539.1).


“I’m really proud of Mitch and really happy for him” Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney said. “First of all, he came here with a lot of goals in mind. He came here to make Clemson better, and he’s done that. He’s leaving here being a part of four ACC Championship Games. He’s a three-time champion, hopefully a four-time champion.”


Hyatt tackle has earned ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week honors three times this season.


In addition to Hyatt, previous Jacobs Blocking Trophy winners from Clemson have included fullback Doug Cline (1959), tackle Wayne Mass (1966), guard Harry Olszewski (1967), guard Joe Bostic (1977), tackle Lee Nanney (1981) and guard James Farr (1983) and guard John Phillips (1987).


“Last year (Hyatt) was the first Jacobs Trophy winner at Clemson in a long, long time, and now, he’s the first player in school history to win it in back-to-back years,” Swinney noted. “I’m just really proud of him, and again, he’s so deserving. He is the model of consistency, and I know that his peers in this league, the other coaches in this league, recognize him as such. This award exemplifies that.”


Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy


1953    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina

1954    Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina

1955    Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland

1956    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke

1957    Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke

1958    John Saunders, FB, South Carolina

1959    Doug Cline, FB, Clemson

1960    Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke

1961    Art Gregory, T, Duke

Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina

1962    Art Gregory, T, Duke

1963    Chuck Walker,T, Duke

1964    Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina

1965    John McNabb, G, Duke

1966    Wayne Mass, T, Clemson

1967    Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson

1968    Greg Shelly, T, Virginia

1969    Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland

1970    Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia

1971    Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina

1972    Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina

1973    Bill Yoest, G, NC State

1974    Ken Huff, G, North Carolina

1975    Billy Bryan, C, Duke

1976    Billy Bryan, C, Duke

1977    Joe Bostic, G, Clemson

1978    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State

1979    Jim Ritcher, C, NC State

1980    Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina

1981    Lee Nanney, T, Clemson

1982    Dave Pacella, T, Maryland

1983    James Farr, G, Clemson

1984    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia

1985    Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia

1986    Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest

1987    John Phillips, G, Clemson

1988    Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina

1989    Chris Port, T, Duke

1990    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia

1991    Ray Roberts, T, Virginia

1992    Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest

1993    Mark Dixon, G, Virginia

1994    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State

1995    Clay Shiver, C, Florida State

1996    no recipient

1997    Tra Thomas, T, Florida State

1998    Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech

1999    John St. Clair, C, Virginia

2000    Tarlos Thomas, T, Florida State

2001    Brett Williams, T, Florida State

2002    Brett Williams, T, Florida State

2003    Elton Brown, G, Virginia

2004    Elton Brown, G, Virginia

2005    Eric Winston, T, Miami

2006    Josh Beekman, G-C, Boston College

2007    Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest

2008    Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia

2009    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State

2010    Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State

2011    Blake DeChristopher, T, Virginia Tech

2012    Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina

2013    Cameron Erving, T, Florida State

2014    Cameron Erving, T-C, Florida State

2015    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State

2016    Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State

2017    Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson

2018    Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson