Clemson, S.C.—Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney is one of 16 semifinalists for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year.  The announcement was made by the Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia, who has presented the award since 1989.

Swinney won the award in 2015 when he took the Tigers to the National Championship game against Alabama.  He was a finalist last year.

The 16 semifinalists are Swinney, Matt Campbell of Iowa State, Paul Chryst of Wisconsin, Bill Clark of UAB, Mark Dantonio of Michigan State, Scott Frost of Central Florida, Lane Kiffin of Florida Atlantic,  Gus Malzahn of Auburn, Jeff Monken of Army, Dan Mullen of Mississippi State, Mark Richt of Miami, Lincoln Riley of Oklahoma, Rich Rodriguez of Arizona, Nick Saban of Alabama, Kirby Smart of Georgia, and Jeff Tedford of Fresno State.

Swinney has guided the Tigers to a 9-1 record so far this season and a No. 2 ranking in the College Football Playoff Poll.   The Tigers are the only team in the nation with four wins over AP top 25 teams (rank entering the game), including three on the road, also a national best.  Clemson also has a national best six wins over FBS teams with a winning record.

Swinney has a record of 98-29 in his 10 seasons at Clemson.  That is the second most wins in school history, trailing only the 165 Frank Howard had in his 30 seasons between 1940-69.